Q-MAC meetings in 2019:

Regular meetings of the Q-MAC team

Read more

Dieter Jaksch awarded with the 2018 Thomas Young Medal and Prize

for "his contributions to theoretical proposals enabling the study of non-equilibrium quantum many-body dynamics with unprecedented microscopic control in ultra-cold atoms, and establishing them as a quantum technologies platform".

Read more

Publication Detail / Abstract

I. Leonov, L. Pourovskii, A. Georges, I. A. Abrikosov

Magnetic collapse and the behavior of transition metal oxides at high pressure

published in Physical Review B on October 20, 2016
> Full text via publisher
We report a detail theoretical study of the electronic structure and phase stability of transition metal oxides MnO, FeO, CoO, and NiO in their paramagnetic cubic B1 structure by employing dynamical mean-field theory of correlated electrons combined with ab initio band-structure methods. Our calculations reveal that under pressure these materials exhibit a Mott insulator-metal transition (IMT) which is accompanied by a simultaneous collapse of local magnetic moments and lattice volume, implying a complex interplay between chemical bonding and electronic correlations. Moreover, our results for the transition pressure show a monotonous decrease from ∼145 to 40 GPa, upon moving from MnO to CoO. In contrast to that, in NiO, magnetic collapse is found to occur at a remarkably higher pressure of ∼429 GPa. We provide a unified picture of such a behavior and suggest that it is primarily a localized to itinerant moment behavior transition at the IMT that gives rise to magnetic collapse in transition metal oxides.
< Back