Q-MAC meetings in 2019:

Regular meetings of the Q-MAC team

Read more

Dieter Jaksch awarded with the 2018 Thomas Young Medal and Prize

for "his contributions to theoretical proposals enabling the study of non-equilibrium quantum many-body dynamics with unprecedented microscopic control in ultra-cold atoms, and establishing them as a quantum technologies platform".

Read more

Publication Detail / Abstract

F. Y. Bruno, M. Gibert, S. McKeown Walker, O. E. Peil, A. de la Torre, S. Riccò, Z. Wang, S. Catalano, A. Tamai, F. Bisti, V. N. Strocov, J.-M. Triscone, F. Baumberger

Electronic structure of buried LaNiO3 layers in (111)-oriented LaNiO3/LaMnO3 superlattices probed by soft x-ray ARPES

published in APL Materials on January 5, 2017
> Full text via publisher
Taking  advantage  of  the  large  electron  escape  depth  of  soft  x-ray  angle  resolved photoemission spectroscopy, we report electronic structure measurements of (111)-oriented [LaNiO3/LaMnO3] superlattices and LaNiO3 epitaxial films. For thin films, we observe a 3D Fermi surface with an electron pocket at the Brillouin zone center and hole pockets at the zone vertices. Superlattices with thick nickelate layers present a similar electronic structure. However, as the thickness of the LaNiO3 is reduced,  the  superlattices  become  insulating.  These  heterostructures  do  not  show a marked redistribution of spectral weight in momentum space but exhibit a pseudogap  of ≈ 50 meV.
< Back